Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Path to Licensure

PPI Architecture Licensing Information

Why is Licensure (Registration) Required?
The purpose of registering architects is to protect the public from architectural practice by unqualified persons. Establishing national standards in education, training, and examination provides consistencies in the areas of professional architectural practice that affect public health and safety. Architects must be licensed before they can call themselves an architect.

What are the Basic Registration Requirements?
Each state architectural registration board provides its own requirements, so it is important that you contact them before you begin the process of becoming licensed. The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) sets the requirements for the minimum guidelines.

The Four Basic Requirements to Become an Architect
• Education—an accredited degree in architecture
• Experience—completion of the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®). Formerly, the Intern Development Program (IDP)
• Examination—pass the 6 divisions of the Architect Registration Exam (ARE)
• Licensure—contact your state registration board to complete the licensure process

Architectural Experience Program (AXP)
Architectural interns must complete 3,740 hours to satisfy the Architectural Experience Program (AXP) requirements. There are six work experience areas that must be fulfilled: Practice Management, Project Management, Programming & Analysis, Project Planning & Design, Project Development & Documentation, and Construction & Evaluation.

If you have any questions regarding the AXP requirements in your state, you can reach out to one of NCARB’s AXP Coordinators. These individuals play a large role in educating students and guiding interns through the AXP process. Contact NCARB for more information or to contact a coordinator.

How to Register for Your Exams
Admission to the exam must be approved by the state registration boards. Contact your state board for eligibility requirements and application forms.